Visit to Rock and Rose Restaurant

Last weekend my boyfriend and I went for dinner and drinks at Rock and Rose restaurant in Richmond.

The staff were really friendly when we arrived, the atmosphere was buzzing and the decor was certainly glamorous. There were lots of roses, chandeliers, bright pinks and blacks!

First, we headed to the bar for a pre-dinner drink. It was very busy and took a while to get served, we also noticed that a couple of the bar staff didn’t seem to get along – one told the other his mojitos looked bad in the Asahi glasses! Apart from that, my cocktail was well worth the wait! I had the cocktail of the week which was the chocolate martini, which is supposed to be an after dinner cocktail but I couldn’t wait to try it!

We were shown to our table and ordered a bottle of gewurtztraminer to drink and some bread and olives to nibble on.

To start my boyfriend got grilled halloumi bruschetta, portabello mushrooms and figs which he enjoyed and never knew he liked figs until then! He says the bruschetta was awesome!

I had the chilli salt squid to start, which was wonderfully chewy on the inside with a nice crunch on the outside. The sweet chilli dipping sauce gave it a nice spicy kick.

I had the rock and rose glazed ribs as my main course, the portion was bigger than what I expected and came with hand cut rock fries with coleslaw. I loved the saucy ribs and the delicious tasting chips. I wasn’t a fan of the coleslaw though, it was warm and soft and I like mine crunchy and cool.

My boyfriend had the Angus rib eye steak rare with hand cut chips, but he didn’t really enjoy it. He said the cut was tasteless and was too charred on the outside and his chips were too big and quite crispy but not really cooked through.

We were so full but got tempted with the dessert menu and ordered a white chocolate & passion fruit cheesecake. It tasted heavenly and the passion fruit sauce gave the white chocolate a nice tang.

The meal came to £94.50 plus service charge which is quite pricey for just a normal night out, but will definitely come back and have already recommend this place to my friends. The meal could have cost more if we didn’t check the bill, as two portions of the monkfish curry was added onto it which weren’t ours!

Share your View

